uni-potsdam.de

You are using an old browser with security vulnerabilities and can not use the features of this website.

Here you will see how you can easily upgrade your browser.

                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                 Auf deutsch

Research Center

'Interactional Linguistics' at the University of Potsdam

+++ News +++ News +++ News +++

Recent Publications:

Couper-Kuhlen, Elizabeth & Margret Selting (2018). Interactional Linguistics: Studying language in social interaction. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press.

--

Save the Date:

International Workshop "Divergent units and fuzzy boundaries"
University of Potsdam, September 13 - 15, 2018
Contact: Dagmar Barth-Weingarten

Participants in Interaction
Photo: Hendrik Lingemann

Who we are

The research center coordinates research in Interactional Linguistics (IL) at the University of Potsdam and promotes collaborations and contact to like-minded researchers in Germany and abroad. The center hosts researchers, instructors, and students who pursue research projects focusing on the interdisciplinary study of language in interaction..

Image: GAT 2 Transcript (Couper-Kuhlen & Barth-Weingarten 2011: 40)

What IL does
IL is a recently established empirical research branch that links linguistics and Conversation Analysis. It considers communication as a holistic, semiotic event.

What we study
The analytic focus lies on describing and explicating the complex interplay of phenomena from all (sub)branches of linguistics that participants use to solve recurrent tasks in social interaction. IL describes the way interlocutors use phonetics, phonology, prosody, morphology, lexis, syntax, semantics, and pragmatics - and their respective relationship to other semiotic systems like gestures, facial expressions, and proxemics - to accomplish sequences of social interaction.

Apart from single-case analyses of phenomena in German and English, IL increasingly studies cross-linguistic, diachronic, and applied aspects. All research is based on audio and video recordings of authentic interaction.

Image: GAT 2 Transcript (Couper-Kuhlen & Barth-Weingarten 2011: 40)
Image: Analysis of segments 02-04 of the excerpt in PRAAT

What we assume
IL first and foremost describes and explicates language patterns participants use to accomplish social interaction. It considers language patterns and practices as phenomena that emerge in and through their local interactional use; at the same time the resources themselves influence the shape of social interaction. IL assumes that the communicative behavior of the individuals is always oriented towards interaction and that participants collaboratively create social reality.

How we proceed

IL considers communication as a holistic, semiotic, temporal, and social event and studies it in its natural everyday and institutional contexts. It aims to reconstruct the social and communicative reality created by the participants and to study the practices and resources they use to solve recurrent tasks in interaction, such as turn taking, repair, sequence organization, topic organization, the accomplishment of actions and activities, and the contextualization of genres. In doing so, IL either investigates the resources used by the participants to accomplish a particular interactional task, or it studies which interactional tasks can be accomplished by a particular linguistic pattern (e.g., clauses and sentences, noun phrases, particles like jaja).

What we draw on
IL was established in the mid-1990s. It mainly draws upon assumptions and methods of ethnomethodology and Conversation Analysis. Thus, it uses detailed single-case analyses of the communicative behavior of the participants in its sequential context, including deviant cases, in order to inductively infer members' categories, resources, normative expectations, and orientations as a basis for creating and interpreting social interaction.

What our aim is
The IL approach to language in social interaction is intended to lead to new insights regarding linguistic categories and concepts as well as a general theory of language in interaction. Moreover, it aims to contribute to developing realistic grammar models, efficient systems for language processing and synthesis as well as improved language teaching material.

Image: Analysis of segments 02-04 of the excerpt in PRAAT

 

Further reading

  • Barth-Weingarten, Dagmar (2008). Interactional Linguistics. In: Antos, Gerd, Elija Ventola & Tilo Weber (Eds.): Handbook of Applied Linguistics. Volume 2: Interpersonal Communication. Berlin, New York: De Gruyter, 77-105.
  • Couper-Kuhlen, Elizabeth & Margret Selting (Eds.) (1996). Prosody in Conversation. Interactional Studies. Cambridge: Cambridge UP.
  • Couper-Kuhlen, Elizabeth & Margret Selting (2018). Interactional Linguistics: Studying language in social interaction. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press.
  • Lindström, Jan (2006). Interactional Linguistics. In: Östman, Jan-Ola & Jef Verschueren (Eds.): Handbook of Pragmatics. Amsterdam: Benjamins.
  • Selting, Margret & Elizabeth Couper-Kuhlen (2000). Argumente für die Entwicklung einer interaktionalen Linguistik. In: Gesprächsforschung – Online-Zeitschrift zur verbalen Interaktion 1/2000, 76-95 <gespraechsforschung-online.de/heft2000/ga-selting.pdf>.
  • Selting, Margret & Elizabeth Couper-Kuhlen (2001). Forschungsprogramm 'Interaktionale Linguistik'. Linguistische Berichte 187/2001, 257-287.
  • Selting, Margret & Elizabeth Couper-Kuhlen (Eds.) (2001). Studies in Interactional Linguistics. Amsterdam: Benjamins.

uni-potsdam.de

Sie verwenden einen veralteten Browser mit Sicherheitsschwachstellen und können die Funktionen dieser Webseite nicht nutzen.

Hier erfahren Sie, wie einfach Sie Ihren Browser aktualisieren können.

                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                English Version

Forschungsstelle

'Interaktionale Linguistik an der Universität Potsdam'

+++ Aktuelles +++ Aktuelles +++ Aktuelles +++

Neuerscheinungen:

Barth-Weingarten, Dagmar (2016). Intonation units revisited - Cesuras in talk-in-interaction. Amsterdam: Benjamins. https://www.benjamins.com/catalog/slsi.29

Ehmer, Oliver & Dagmar Barth-Weingarten (Hrsg.) (2016). Adverbial patterns in interaction. Language Sciences 58.

Ehmer, Oliver & Dagmar Barth-Weingarten (2016). Adverbial patterns in interaction. In: Ehmer, Oliver & Dagmar Barth-Weingarten (Hrsg.). Adverbial patterns in interaction. Language Sciences 58, 1-7.

Küttner, Uwe-A. (2016). That-initial turns in English conversation. An interactional linguistic investigation of two formats for designedly tying a current turn to a prior. Potsdam: Universität Potsdam.

Menschen in Interaktion
Foto: Hendrik Lingemann

Über uns

Die Forschungsstelle koordiniert die Arbeiten im Rahmen der Interaktionalen Linguistik (IL) an der Universität Potsdam und dient als Ansprechpartnerin für nationale und internationale KooperationspartnerInnen. Hier arbeiten Forschende, Lehrende und Studierende zusammen, die einen Schwerpunkt ihrer Arbeit in die interdisziplinäre Erforschung von Sprache in der Interaktion legen.

Bild: GAT 2 Transkript (Selting et al. 2009: 394)

Was IL ist
IL ist ein junger empirischer Forschungsbereich an der Schnittstelle zwischen Linguistik und Conversation Analysis. Sie betrachtet Kommunikation als ganzheitliches semiotisches Ereignis.

Was wir untersuchen
Analytisch liegt der Fokus auf der Beschreibung und Erklärung des komplexen Zusammenspiels von Phänomenen aus allen Teilgebieten der Linguistik für die Organisation der wiederkehrenden Aufgaben der sozialen Interaktion. Phonetik, Phonologie, Prosodie, Morphologie, Lexik, Syntax, Semantik und Pragmatik, sowie ihre Beziehung zu anderen semiotischen Systemen, wie Gestik, Mimik und Proxemik, werden in ihrer Verwendung für die Herstellung von Interaktionssequenzen und sozialen Handlungen beschrieben.

Neben Fallanalysen in Einzelsprachen wie Deutsch und Englisch rücken zunehmend auch sprachübergreifende, diachrone und anwendungsorientierte Aspekte ins Blickfeld. Als Untersuchungsmaterial hierfür dienen Ton- und Videoaufnahmen  authentischer Gespräche.

Bild: GAT 2 Transkript (Selting et al. 2009: 394)
Bild: Analyse von Segment 02 des Ausschnitts in PRAAT

Wovon wir ausgehen
IL beschreibt und erklärt vornehmlich sprachliche Phänomene, die TeilnehmerInnen nutzen, um in der sozialen Interaktion zu handeln. Sprachliche Muster und Praktiken werden dabei als Phänomene verstanden, die durch ihren lokalen interaktionalen Gebrauch hervorgebracht werden, gleichzeitig prägen die Ressourcen selbst aber auch die soziale Interaktion. Individuelles sprachliches Handeln wird dabei stets als auf Interaktion hin angelegt beschrieben und soziale Realität als von den InteraktionsteilnehmerInnen gemeinsam hergestellt aufgefasst.

Wie wir vorgehen

IL betrachtet Kommunikation als ganzheitliches, semiotisches, zeitliches und soziales Ereignis in seinem alltäglichen und institutionellen Kontext. Sie möchte damit die durch die TeilnehmerInnen hergestellte soziale und kommunikative Realität rekonstruieren und die Praktiken und Ressourcen erforschen, mit denen diese wiederkehrende kommunikative Aufgaben (z.B. Sprecherwechsel, Reparatur, Sequenzorganisation, Themenorganisation, Herstellung von Handlungen, Aktivitäten und Gattungen etc.) bewältigen. Dabei geht die IL entweder von einer interaktionalen Aufgabe aus (z.B. Sprecherwechsel, Reparatur, Handlungsherstellung und -koordination) und sucht nach den dafür verwendeten sprachlichen Ressourcen oder sie betrachtet eine sprachliche Struktur (z.B. Sätze, Nominalphrasen, Partikeln wie jaja)  und sucht nach den Aufgaben, die mit ihr realisiert werden.

Wo wir anknüpfen
Als Mitte der 1990er Jahre etabliertes Gebiet basiert die IL vornehmlich auf Annahmen und Methoden der Ethnomethodologie und der Conversation Analysis. So nutzt sie z.B. detaillierte Einzelfallanalysen des kommunikativen Verhaltens der TeilnehmerInnen im spezifischen sequentiellen Kontext, einschließlich abweichender Fälle (deviant cases), um Teilnehmerkategorien, Ressourcen, normative Teilnehmererwartungen und -orientierungen als Basis der Herstellung und Interpretation sozialer Interaktion induktiv zu erschließen.

Worauf wir hinauswollen
Diese Perspektive auf Sprache in der sozialen Interaktion soll zu neuen Erkenntnissen sowohl bzgl. einzelner linguistischer Kategorien und Konzepte als auch zu einer allgemeinen Theorie der Sprache in der sozialen Interaktion führen. Weiterhin soll sie u.a. zur Entwicklung realistischer Grammatiken, leistungsfähigerer Sprachanalyse und -synthesesysteme sowie verbesserter Sprachlehrmaterialien beitragen.

Bild: Analyse von Segment 02 des Ausschnitts in PRAAT


Weiterführende Literatur

  • Barth-Weingarten, Dagmar (2008). Interactional Linguistics. In: Antos, Gerd, Elija Ventola & Tilo Weber (Hrsg.): Handbook of Applied Linguistics. Band 2: Interpersonal Communication. Berlin, New York: De Gruyter, 77-105.
  • Couper-Kuhlen, Elizabeth & Margret Selting (Hrsg.) (1996). Prosody in Conversation. Interactional Studies. Cambridge: Cambridge UP.
  • Lindström, Jan (2006). Interactional Linguistics. In: Östman, Jan-Ola & Jef Verschueren (Hrsg.): Handbook of Pragmatics. Amsterdam: Benjamins.
  • Selting, Margret & Elizabeth Couper-Kuhlen (2000). Argumente für die Entwicklung einer interaktionalen Linguistik. In: Gesprächsforschung – Online-Zeitschrift zur verbalen Interaktion 1/2000, 76-95 <http://gespraechsforschung-online.de/heft2000/ga-selting.pdf>.
  • Selting, Margret & Elizabeth Couper-Kuhlen (2001). Forschungsprogramm 'Interaktionale Linguistik'. Linguistische Berichte 187/2001, 257-287.
  • Selting, Margret & Elizabeth Couper-Kuhlen (Hrsg.) (2001). Studies in Interactional Linguistics. Amsterdam: Benjamins.